Hospitality

Last night, Mr. Gibson and I hosted the original Gibson’s, also known as Sandra and Alan, for dinner. As a new bride, I pulled out all the stops to impress the in-laws. There are a few things that simply must happen if you’re having company. First, Clorox wipes in hand, I cleaned (or at least wiped) the house. Second, I picked out the recipes I would create from the wonderful America’s Test Kitchen cookbook (a wonderful wedding gift from Mrs. Sharp). Third, I watched at least 4 episodes of “Bethenny Getting Married?” on Bravo to get me ready for any drama the in-laws would throw my way.

The main course was maple-soy glazed salmon with grilled asparagus. Delish. As you can see in the picture above, we used our beautiful flatware, and new crystal water glasses too. We were feeling royal. But the part I was most excited about was dessert. Duh. You can check out the recipe below, but needless to say, it was a tasty treat. I can’t wait to have more house guests so I can continue trying out my culinary prowess. Next guest on the list? Amelia Lynn Cornish.


Lesson # 2. When your husband does all the dishes after you’ve cooked a big meal, thank him.

 

Blackberry Cobbler


The filling:

  • 6 cups blackberries
  • 1 tbs. corn starch
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • a little cinnamon-sugar

The biscuit part

  • 1 c. flour
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c. buttermilk
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted & cooled
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix up all the stuff for the filling in an oven-safe pan of your choice. I chose a 9 x 13 pan. Bake it in the oven for 20-30 minutes, until the mixture has juices spilling over. I put it on a baking sheet covered in aluminum so the oven wouldn’t get sticky! When the juices are starting to bubble, you can start making the biscuit stuff.
  2. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder & soda, and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix buttermilk, melted butter, & vanilla. Toss cinnamon and sugar in a third bowl. When you see the fruit filling starting the bubble over in the oven, stir the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture until it’s a dough.
  3. Remove filling from the oven. Separate the dough into 8-9 pieces, and place on top of the filling. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top of biscuits. Return to oven for 15- 20 minutes or until biscuits are cooked through and golden brown on top.


**Next time, I’m going to try this recipe with Leigh’s paleo granola recipe on top, instead of the breading. I think it’ll be perfect.

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

One thought

  1. glad the dinner went so well! thanks for the shout-out on the blog. maybe, just maybe, one day i'll grow up enough to have a blog, then we can link to each other's blogs. one day …

What chu thinkin?

