lesson #5

When Mr. Gibson and I moved into our 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment off of West End, we were lucky enough to be able to connect freely to a wireless internet source. Yes, some may call this “stealing” internet, but as far as I am concerned, if a person doesn’t password protect their connection, they are really just “sharing” with their neighbors.

Unfortunately, three weeks ago, our kind neighbors in 3321 moved, taking their internet connection with them. Today, the Gibson’s have finally reconnected to the internet via our friends at Comcast, and all the joys of facebook, jcrew.com, allrecipes.com, and this blog are back at my disposal. So what have the Gibson’s been doing over the past few weeks? I’m so glad you asked.

CAR TROUBLE. Poor “Pheobe” the 2003 focus, my trusty red, fish-looking vehicle has suffered some injuries lately. Last Thursday, she did not start. Mr. Gibson valiantly jumped the battery. I drove to work. At 5:30, in the TRMS parking lot, she did not start again. I drove home with my wonderful mother-in-love, who was miraculously at school that afternoon volunteering in my classroom. Friday morning, Mr. Gibson drove me back to work, jumped my abandoned car again, and took her to Brentwood and fixed her up wiht a brand-spanking-new-battery. Saturday, poor pheobe took another hit. One black Chevy Tahoe, one distracted male driver, and pheobe recieved a punch in the driver’s side door. See you later, driver’s side mirror.

TEACHING. Is still going. I’ve enjoyed the privilege of giving my first faculty presentation at Two Rivers Middle School. I’ve regretted sending my 2nd student of the year to the principal’s office. I’ve rejoiced as I watched all 118 of my students write legible, intelligible essays about scarcity. I’ve also been recruited to be a part of a pioneer project called “Good to Great” to help push us 2nd-year corps members to continue pursuing excellence in the classroom.

MARRIAGE. Continues to amaze me. Mr. Gibson was out of town this weekend (just in time for me to get in my first car accident, of course), and sleeping alone was eerie. I enjoyed a weekend to clean the house, do some shopping, and catch up with some girlfriends. Mr. Gibson enjoyed an outdoor weekend in Chattanooga for his friend, Mr. Guessetto, who is heading to the altar in just a few weeks. Now, we sit here on a couch, basking in the scent of a pumpkin spice candle, watching NFL football, and feeling cozy under a blanket. I love the fall, and can’t wait for the all the changes that a changing season will bring.

Recent recipe: America’s Test Kitchen Tortilla Soup 🙂
Recent purchase: winter skirt!
Current read: Beach Music, Pat Conroy. SO GOOD!

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

4 thoughts

  1. October 17th…the day I arrive in Nashville…so ready to breathe in that wonderful tennessee fall air, drink a pumpkin spice latte, shop, have lunch with that WONDERFUL mother-in-law of yours…and my new friend,..,.MY TREAT…and just relax with my Tennessee precious family…RILY!!! Can't wait to see you, too…JP (mr. Gibson)

  2. I never had a mother-in-love volunteer in my classroom. You, my dear, are BLESSED—in many ways. You are becoming an AMAZING teacher. I doubt you can find a more rewarding career …other than homemaker.Keep the blog going; we love it in Alabama!

  3. Beach Music is one of my very favorite books! I apologize deeply for my non-communication lately … love you dearly, though. How was the tortilla soup? I might need to try it …love!h

  4. I am so ready for fall. It was actually chilly today in greenville and my pumpkin spice candle is being thoroughly enjoyed. P.S that is such a good idea to share you recent recipes, purchases and reads! Coincidentally I've been craving tortilla soup, Beach music is on my list,and that skirt is adorable!!!

What chu thinkin?

