An impromptu drive to Knoxville

My phone rang on Saturday, flashing the name “Jack Howard” across the screen. I knew what he was going to say before he even said it. In less than 24 hours, he was going to ask Amy to marry him. “Can you make it to Knoxville?” he asked, excitedly.

Could we make it to Knoxville? Yes, we could. Despite the impending “snowpocalypse” or “snowageddon” as its been so affectionately called across the twitterverse, Amelia and I jumped in her Volkswagen, picked up a Skinny Vanilla and a Pumpkin Spice Latte, and hit I-40.

This is Amelia’s idea of what Amy’s face would look like when she saw us.

This is what Amy’s face actually looked like when she saw us. Jessica smothered her.

Jessica drove up from Atlanta, and the reunion was so wonderful for all of us. Good work Jack!

The man.
The ring.


The book I’ve been reading.


Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

3 thoughts

  1. I randomly just clicked on your blog and enjoyed reading through some things, and this caught my eye–I just finished reading "Little Bee" and loved it!Let me know if you want to get together some time and talk about next year or something ; ) !Jill (Freiberg….Grifenhagen)

  2. There are many things I love about this … too many to list, really. But one is that Amy has a pretty manicure not because she necessarily thought she was going to get engaged but because she's Amy, and her nails always look good. 🙂

What chu thinkin?

