halibut

Monday I wrote about what a great day I had. One of the things that made the day so great was that a student who I thought was in In-School-Suspension during my class, came to me after school, turned in her work, and got all the assignments she was missing.

Turns out she wasn’t in ISS afterall. She skipped my class. When I found out and talked to her about it Tuesday, I wanted to turn to her and say… “I WROTE IN MY BLOG ABOUT YOU… and YOU LIED!”

Ugh.

In other news, I have a new recipe to share:

Pan-Seared Halibut with Tomato RelishIngredients:
  • 2 small halibut filets (or whatever is on sale… fish is expensive!)
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1/4 c. kalmata olives, pitted, chopped coarse
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper
  • olive oil

First, pat the halibut dry. Salt and pepper that fish. On a heated 12-inch non-stick skillet, put 2 T. Olive Oil. Then sear the fish for 5 minutes. Using 2 spatulas, flip the fish over and sear for about 4 more minutes. Tent with foil on a plate.

In the same skillet, put 2 more T. olive oil and heat until simmering. First, saute the olives, shallot and tomatoes until soft and fragrant, about 2 minutes. Then add the garlic and simmer together for about 3 more minutes on low. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve on top of halibut with your favorite veggie 🙂

We’re eating this cheesecake that I made on my snow day #9 tonight. I’ll post the recipe if it turns out to be any good. That crack down the middle makes me sad!

What chu thinkin?

