Paleo

I opened a Christmas present early.  It was from my sister Leigh, and her husband Eric (and their three precious children Meg, Liam, and Adair).  For the past several years, I have watched in envy as Leigh and Eric have led their family in a counter-cultural lifestyle of paleo living and eating.   You probably have heard of it already, but if not, paleo eating is basically about eating everything that our body was designed to consume and nothing it was not.  Needless to say, the Gusts are fit and healthy.

Here’s what Eric and Leigh gave Patrick and me this year:

After reading the introduction to this cookbook, I got excited.  To summarize what Sarah wrote: Claire, stop making excuses.  Yes, your brother-in-law is in the Army, but that’s not a requirement of eating right.  Yes, this is going to take a little bit of hard work, but its going to be woth it.

So I’m at this place right now, on Christmas Eve, chocolate cake and peppermint bark sitting right in front of me, and I can’t wait to get home to Nashville and throw out the ice cream, cereal, and bagels that are left in my cabinets at home.  See, because that’s how I am, I have to go extreme for a time if this is going to really stick.  So I’m going to do it.  I’m going to take the paleo challenge and eat like I ought to for 30 days.  At the end of January, if I don’t feel any better than I do right now writing this post, then I’ll go back to eating like I did before.

But I don’t think that’s going to happen.

What chu thinkin?

