On Work

Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done.  Now no shrub had yet appeared on the earth and no plant had yet sprung up, for the LORD God had not sent rain on the earth and there was no one to work the ground. The LORD God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.
Genesis 2:2-6, Genesis 2:15

Work. We all need it, some of us want it, most hate it, and others can’t wait to retire from it.  In the beginning, God worked.  I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately.  Mostly, I think I have previously looked at the creation story as God haphazardly “speaking” things into being.  I haven’t ever considered that that could have been difficult work.  Creative, thoughtful, intricate work.  God created us, and invited us into that work.  In order for anything green to grow on this large rock we call Earth, there needed to be two things: rain and someone to work the ground. God was inviting us into participate in creative, difficult work on Earth.

So work is a gift.  And I will be the first to tell you how thankful I am for my three years of work.  My fellow teachers, principals, and students both at Two Rivers and currently at CPA have challenged me to grow in more ways than I can list here.   But all of this has me thinking.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately because I am twenty-four years old, and am currently in my third year of working my second job in the first field I entered after college: teaching.   Over the last three years, three questions have circled around and around in my mind, without a clear answer.  So I’m posing my private thoughts on this public forum, because I want some input.  What are the answers to these questions?  Better yet, what are your answers to these questions for yourself?  Have you thought of these same questions, too?

1.  Is there such a thing as the “perfect” job?
2.  Is it important that what you’re passionate about and your work be aligned?
3.  When are we called to be content in work, and when are we called to search for something new?

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

4 thoughts

  1. 1.I don't think there is such a thing as a "perfect" anything. And I think it's a dangerous road to go down to try to find that "perfect" anything. Perfect marriage, perfect body, perfect house, etc. Less face it, it's a fallen world and at any job there are going to be other humans and therefore will not be perfect all the time.This was Lindsay by the way…..2. I definitely think that your work should incorporate things that you are passionate about but your work doesn't have to be completely about your passions. I say figure out a way to work that incorporates something you are passionate about but also has you doing other things. This will challenge you and keep you open for other opportunities. If you are passionate about practicing medicine does that mean you will only be happy as the head doctor in a major hospital (completely consumed by your passion)? I would argue that there would be a whole host of work that you could to that incorporates the passion of medicine but also allows space to grow and learn other things.3. I think we are always called to be content in our work. I think we are supposed to be (with You Know Who's help/strength) content in all circumstances — keeping in mind that content doesn't necessarily mean happy/laughing every second of the day. I also think that searching for new things is never a bad thing as long as you aren't hopping from one thing to the next seeking the "perfect fit." See #1. It's never a bad thing to try to grow and learn more. However, if you are searching for something new just because you don't like everyone at your work, or your boss is mean, or you don't like the "politics" at your office then you are never going to be at one place very long.

  2. Thanks jacob! I know our generation has all struggled with these questions… so thanks for your input. Shannon, same to you… I don't have any answers, but I'll let you kno if I make any realizations.

  3. Man, I feel like I've wrestled with that a lot. I haven't found a "perfect" job, but I've had multiple jobs that were/are "perfect for now." I think it's all about letting God direct you. I have very little passion for what I'm doing right now, but I am oddly at peace with where I'm at because I believe God has me here in preparation for that "perfect job" or whatever down the line.But I feel like I've hung around in a position beyond the time to leave. I guess the good news is, that there's always grace for that, and everything will end up working for the good.Hope you get what you need, whether that's direction to go or peace to stay! And I hope the Gibsons doing awesome. I'd love to see y'all soon!- jacob stroop

What chu thinkin?

