Paleo update

So at my last paleo update, things weren’t going so well.  But that was before this…

Paleo meatballs! I’ve eaten these over spaghetti squash with tomato sauce, and ate them with a delicious Indian sauce that we made from this recipe.   A (relatively) quick recipe, and they have lasted Patrick and me the whole week!

Today is officially day 9 of my 30 day effort.  I’ve definitely had the initial placebo effect, some pretty serious withdrawals (tylenol helped), but today is the first day that I’ve been able to go almost the whole day without thinking about what I’m going to eat next.  Although I think this is for dinner.

All of this “new” stuff has really helped me connect with my oldest sister, who was the original inspiration to give it a shot.  Leigh, after being an officer in the U.S. Army, is now an Army wife, and a certified CrossFit trainer.  She knows so much about nutrition, because she’s seen first-hand the improvements that eating what God gave us, and she enjoys working out, and teaching others how to do it. 

I asked her yesterday if she was interested in health and nutrition in college–but she, in her ironic humor said frankly, “no, I only remember being interested in not being fat.”  Which, in her defense, is what many college-aged girls are interested in–even if their major is Political Science, or English.

But this brings me back to my original musing about work–because Leigh has really dived into working with CrossFit, and encouraging women at West Point to be strong.  She has been certified, and leads classes at West Point’s Arvin gym, and even told me that she finds herself thinking about what the next best workout can be.  I love hearing that my sister has found work that she so enjoys.

Comments

  1. you are too kind. i hope you are feeling well.

  2. though I cooked mine in a very large slow cooker…and at them with collards.

  3. had these for supper tonight…and last night, too. YUM!

What chu thinkin?

