Paleo Day #13

Almost halfway to the end of the 30-day challenge.  I like the idea of doing new-year’s resolutions that can last just a month.  Despite only committing to try Paleo eating for 30 days, I’ve been really pleased with how I feel. 

My biggest hope for the change was that come 3:00 PM, I wouldn’t be absolutely wiped out like I have been in the past.  Teaching is a very physically active job.  I am always on my feet, walking to and from the copy room.  The bathroom is all the way on the other side of the building, 10 minutes of my 30 minute lunch are spent making the lunch, and walking back and forth from the high school cafeteria!  It’s exhausting! 

So, not having a bagel and cream cheese in the morning?  Really?!  I thought I would crash before first period.

Instead, I’ve felt energized!  This morning I ate a paleo muffin (which is SO MUCH BETTER than the wanna-be cupcake version I’ve been used to) with eggs.   Would you believe that I really was full and energized (on a Monday, no less) until lunchtime!

 Here are the paleo muffins!  And here is the recipe!

And for a snack, I love the ever-delicious trail mix.
Simmer mixture of 1/4 cup Cocunut Oil, 1/3 cup Honey, and Cinnamon. Cover 5 cups of assorted nuts with drizzle. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  Break apart.  Add Shredded coconut and assorted dried fruits.  YUM.

Comments

  1. i love this. this is what it is all about. this way of eating is doing what it is supposed to do–maximize your energy/performance. it really drives home the fact that food is fuel, and what we consume does make a difference. glad you are seeing the fruit of your 'hard' work.

What chu thinkin?

