I didn’t sign up for this.

I signed up for “The Facebook,” when I was seventeen.  I didn’t even know what it was.  I just knew that I wanted to be on it.   I had no idea that eight years later I would still be updating my status and posting links to my newest blog entry for the world to see.

When I was seventeen, I wanted as many friends as humanly possible–so when a guy in my physics class “added” me as a friend online?  Yes.  The answer is always yes!  Today, I have 1,500 facebook friends.  They get to see it all.  Yes, I can “defriend” or put people in “groups,” but lets be honest– who has time to sift through all the people on that list?  Plus, when I try to do it… half of my time is just trying to remember how I knew the person in the first place.

But today I’ve realized… it’s too much.

This morning, I went on a 6-mile run (thanks, I know, it’s a big deal).  Being the computer-savvy person I am, I used http://www.mapmyrun.com to choose my route.  When I got home, I realized that the route I mapped was uploaded for everyone of my 1,500 friends to see.  And here’s the deal.  NOT EVERYONE NEEDS TO KNOW MY RUNNING ROUTE.

I was angry.  I didn’t sign up for this.

Thankfully, I was running in broad daylight, with a friend, and my four-legged security system.  But if someone wanted to track me down and cause me harm?  I had already provided my location for the next 60, (okay, let’s be honest) 70 minutes.

I finally got to the bottom of it.  When I signed up for Mapmyrun.com, they asked whether I wanted to link the information to facebook.  Somehow, along the way, I had agreed.  I agreed to give away that information.   Immediately, I deactivated the “linking” function.  But it already had me thinking. 

We are agreeing to publicize our lives.  We are agreeing to expose our thoughts, our pictures, our locations, and more… to everyone.  Have I already endangered myself without even knowing it?

What do you think?  Has facebook become overly connected to our lives?  Do we blindly publicize the events of our lives without thinking through the potential consequences? 

Nonetheless, I’m going to go post this entry to facebook.

What chu thinkin?

