My Relationship With Adele

Can I tell you a secret?


I can’t listen to Adele anymore.

Last spring, I couldn’t stop playing the grammy-winning song “Rolling in the Deep,” and to be honest, I could probably still but that song on repeat and never get sick of it.  But I can’t.

If you watched the Grammy’s this year, you watched Adele make her miraculous come-back on stage and sweep up song, record, and album of the year. (What’s the difference between record and album again?)  In her final acceptance speech, she gave credence to a very common situation that led to the inspiration–a rubbish relationship.

And I’ve had rubbish relationships.  I’ve also had a relationship that I thought was not rubbish, but turned out to be rubbish.  And Adele brings all of that right back.

Her voice is amazing, her accent makes me wish I were British… but her music?  It makes my mind reel with memories that are toxic.  So I’ve decided to stop listening. 

What about you?  Are there artists you can’t listen to because of the rubbish memories they bring up in your mind?  I’d love to hear…

P.S. Here’s the video of Adele’s acceptance speech, and how I knew I wasn’t in a rubbish relationship!

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

What chu thinkin?

