Portlandia: She’s Making Jewelry Now.

Are you into the IFC show Portlandia?
If not, here’s a quick summary.   Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein play a series of self-involved characters in an overly eco-friendly city, discovering new trends, working part time at coffee shops, and keeping the dream of the 90’s alive.   Portland, they say, is where young people go to retire.  They could easily say the same of Nashville.
This show resonates with so many because it perfectly satirizes the culture of 20-30 somethings.  If you’re living in a metropolitan area and you were born in the 1980s, you will get Portlandia.  You might even be one of the characters. 
Take one of Portlandia’s sketches from this season, for example.  Carrie describes her soul-searching sister who worked for an event-planning company “like, three years ago,” before leap-frogging from career to career, attempting to get her life on track.  Sound familiar?
It sounds like me.  Maybe it sounds like you, too?  I’ve changed jobs twice in three years. And once again, I’m facing a job change this summer.  Now that I have the opportunity, I have been daydreaming about all the different work possibilities that might exist for me.  And after watching this sketch more times than I care to mention, I realized why I was so captivated by it in the first place.

I am afraid of being the girl who’s “making jewelry now.”

After posting about my job loss, I received several messages about changes people around me are making.  My freshman roommate left the world of politics and is starting to take culinary classes!  A good friend of Patrick’s has stopped pursuing journalism, and is going back to school for Animal Science.  Another friend e-mailed me last week for a reference–because she wants to come work at CPA.

So it has me thinking, are we all just “making jewelry now?”  And maybe there’s nothing wrong with that.  The world needs jewelry after all.  And it needs bloggers, and chefs, and people to care for pets.  But can our generation commit to become great at the crafts we choose?  Or are we content to jump from one idea to the next, living as life-long amateurs? 

Well, what do you think?
Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

2 thoughts

  1. Who is the girl in the skit that plays Carrie's sister (the one Making Jewelry Now)? She reminds me of Maggie Gyllenhaal.Oh, and yes, it could describe me too. In fact, at one point I tried to make and sell jewelry.

What chu thinkin?

