What About Bob?

There’s something liberating about cutting all your hair off.  In the 1920s, short hair and shorter dresses became the symbol of defying authority and embracing modernity.  A few weeks ago, my best friend Whitney broke the rules, cut her hair, and bought a tube of red lipstick.  She’s what I’d call a modern day flapper.  Check out her new ‘do here.

Isn’t she pretty?

I, on the other hand, was not quite ready for the all-out gender-ambiguity that might come from me in a pixie cut.  In fact, as a child, I had a moment in a restaurant where the waiter asked what “he” would want for dinner, and I was scarred into permanently thinking I have boyish features.

So, I thought… what about a bob?

So I did it!  Jordan from Salon n’fuse on 8th Ave did a great job.  And I’m going to go ahead and toot my own horn: I think it looks pretty darn good.

Comments

  1. ha! how embarassing! At least she didn't write that on the Tennessean webpage…

  2. Love the haircut!

  3. Nothing critical on the blog, mom!

  4. hair is precious…bones poking through the chest and collar….not so much.

  5. very nice! you look spectacular. i don't know if i could ever go shorter than shoulders, so i applaud your boldness!

  6. Love It! If I ever cut my hair off I would be in the Bob family as well. Sooo cute!!

  7. LOVE IT!! Looks super cute on you Claire!

What chu thinkin?

