9 Relationship Tips from a Dog

You know those people that treat their dog a little too much like a human?  Yeah.  We’re those people.  All of my “I will nevers” haven’t really panned out.

“I will never let him on the furniture!” … now we do.

“Our house will never smell like dog!”… it’s getting harder to tell.

Sometimes, I look down at the red haired rascal in exasperation and ask, “Who invited you to live in our house?”  Patrick’s response is always… we did.”

Still, I seldom regret that invitation, because I’ve seen how much loyal love this little creature gives us day in and day out.  So recently, I’ve been thinking…

Can you learn love lessons from a dog?

I think you can. 

1. Always meet him at the door. There’s something that simply makes you smile when a four-legged furry-haired hound is wagging his butt and panting at your arrival.  So many times, when Patrick get’s home, I’m on my computer or in the kitchen, and make a very little deal about him being home.  It would probably make him feel a lot more loved if I’d shake my butt more often when he walks in the door.

2. Be quiet.  The beauty of owning an animal is that you can tell it all your problems, and they don’t talk back.  Sure, they might not understand a word you’ve said, but they rarely start bitching (pun intended) about their own problems.  I can learn from this.

3. Be loyal and respectful. When I got married, I was instructed that women long to be loved, while men long to be respected.  And I suppose that’s why dogs are known as man’s best friend.  Cooper listens to his dad, and doesn’t ever make sarcastic comments or biting remarks.  And he follows Patrick’s lead.   I often feel like the embroidery on a pillow that sits at my mother’s house: “I’m not bossy, my ideas are just better.”  The truth is, that’s not the truth.  I’m trying to learn from Cooper to be a more respectful wife. 

4. Cuddle. I’ve heard that guys are kind of into physical affection–and cuddling counts. I’ve never been much for the touchy-feely, especially when I feel like I smell bad.  Having a dog has changed that.  Cooper wants affection (and will whine until he gets some) at all hours of the day– no matter if he’s freshly bathed.  Why should I be any different?

5. Don’t make demands. Isn’t it so easy in a relationship to start making “lists?”  We need to pressure wash the house.  This weekend we have GOT to organize the closets.  I HAVE to have that pair of shoes.  And while those things do need to happen at some point (new shoes included), it’s nice to hang around a dog that makes very few  demands… and I’m sure it would be nice to have a wife like that, too.

6. Play.  One of my favorite things is to watch Patrick throw the ball in the yard with Cooper in the afternoon while the sun is setting.  They both look so happy.  Seeing that reminds me that being playful is vital to the health of our relationship.

7. Feel the freedom to be lazy. Dogs don’t do anything.  They don’t have a job.  They don’t have to clean the house.  They rarely have to justify staying in the same outfit for two days in a row.   Laying around is their greatest life skill.  But I, on the other hand, need some practice being lazy.   On Saturday mornings, when I finally have the freedom to sleep in and stay in my pajamas… I feel antsy and think, shouldn’t I start being productive?  Maybe I shouldn’t. 

8. Don’t worry about what you’re wearing. Maybe it’s just not that important, after all.  

9. Use your puppy eyes. Sometimes after you’ve been in a relationship for a long time, it’s easy to forget the tools us women use to attract our men in the first place.  Don’t forget the power of your eyelashes and a few long stares… Cooper certainly hasn’t.

What do you think?  Am I totally ridiculous, or are these legitimate lessons?  Do you already abide by any of these dogmas?  HA! get it?  Dogma!  Whatever, leave a comment. —

    Author: Claire

    Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

    2 thoughts

    What chu thinkin?

    