Sneak Peek: The Great Gatsby

I have no problem admitting that Leonardo DiCaprio is one of my favorite actors.  Okay, that’s a lie.  I feel slightly embarrassed admitting that.  Maybe I should say my favorite actor is Roberto Benigni so I can sound really cool.  But that’d be a lie.

I like DiCaprio and I love Baz Luhrmann.   Looks like the feelings between the two of them are rather strong, as well, because Luhrmann has now cast DiCaprio in two of his six major motion pictures.

I was obsessed with Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet when it came out in 1996.  After reading Shakespeare’s most famous play, I somehow convinced my freshman English teacher (what was her name again?) to let us watch BOTH the old movie version AND the newer version of the movie in class.

Now, Luhrmann will give students a reason to bother their teachers again, and send home permission forms to see the PG-13 movie.  Have you heard about his latest project?

Luhrmann’s next major motion picture is modern remake of The Great Gatsby.  And guess who’s playing Gatsby?

GATSBY

The film is set to be released December 2012, and I have a great feeling it will be up for some Oscar nominations next January.   I’d put money on it.   They’ve only released a few pictures and a movie poster.  Carey Mulligan makes a striking Daisey Buchanan, and I’ll be interested to see how Tobey MacGuire pulls off Nick Carraway.

F. Scott Fitzgerald released his commentary on the fast and loose world of the 1920s 87 years ago this week.   After finishing The Marriage Plot, l decided to pick up The Great Gatsby and re-read it.  Only forty pages in, I’m already captivated.

Have you picked up any novels to re-read that you read in High School?  What is your favorite book-turned-movie?   Do you like or loathe DiCaprio?–

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

One thought

  1. Haha I think I convinced my english teacher to let us watch both versions of romeo and juliet in hs as well. I need to re-read the Great Gatsby- it's going on my "take-to-the-beach" list. I picked up The Giver the other day but that's more middle school-still a good read.

What chu thinkin?

