Community Supported Agriculture: Week One

Have you ever done a CSA? Patrick and I are starting one this Saturday.  Here’s a little back story.

 Hank Sr. (Army veteran and organic farmer) +  Miranda Pontes (brilliant restauranteur and my new girl crush)

Patrick and I started eating a lot more vegetables this winter, when we were eating like cavemen. We fell in love with chard, kale, squash, and beets. We grew in our hatred of cauliflower. But all in all, we grew to appreciate anything that grows out of the ground. That’s when we started thinking about joining a Community Supported Agriculture program.  To join a CSA, typically you register for a share (or half share) of produce for the entire harvesting season from May – October. That means, you pay a large sum up front, and then get a bushel of fresh produce every week. Together, Patrick and I weighed the pros and cons.

Cons: You never know what you’re going to get (at some point I’ll have to google how to cook an artichoke, I’m sure). The cost is a little bit high (particularly when you’re paying up front, and have no clue what your weekly veggie grocery bill actually looks like). And, you may end up with more than you can consume in a week (and I hate to waste).

Pros: You know where your food is coming from (and in this day and age, that is priceless). You know that your money is going to a family you can trust (and who’ve given their lives to being great at what they create).  The food will taste better (duh). It’s an adventure (and I like those).

We decided to go for it… and when I submitted our CSA form for Delvin Farms, Hank Delvin Jr. actually invited me out to the farm!

Here are a few pictures from the day, and here’s my guest post over at Delvin Farm’s blog

 Hank Jr. (former Bostonian business consultant turned farmer extraordinaire) + Kale.  You see those little black runner looking things?  That’s plastic, and they run that down the rows of soil, then poke a hole, then plant the seed in the hole.  The cover protects the seed, keeps the soil warm, and saves on water because the irrigation stays in one place, rather than eroding the soil and running all over the fields.  Pretty fascinating!

 Bees.
The Delvins let us pick our own fresh strawberries to take home!  Yum.
Hank Jr. + Cindy Delvin + me
Tomorrow, Patrick and I will receive our very first bushel from Delvin Farms CSA, at the West Nashville Farmers market.  I can’t wait to see what’s in the box, and come up with some new recipes too.
What do you think? Would you ever do a CSA?  What’s kept you from trying it?
Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

What chu thinkin?

