My First Half Marathon: A lesson in Community

I’m sure you’re getting sick of hearing about it, which is why you’ll be glad to know that I completed my very first half marathon last week ! It’s over. Done. Kaput. Hallelujah.

Over the last four months, I’ve been sharing my journey of training for my first 13.1 mile race, and I’ve been so thankful for the support.  Over spring break, when I was deep in doubt about my ability to do this, my sister said “You’re going to do it.  You’re going to keep moving for two hours until it’s over.” And she was right.  Still, over the course of this spring, I walked (hobbled?) away from this race with one major lesson learned.  I did not do it alone.

I couldn’t have run the race without East Nasty. The girls in this picture above, Abiola and Kayla, are two of a large group of runners that I met with every Sunday morning for long runs, tempo runs, and a few “easy” runs (that weren’t so easy after all). 
Without Patrick, I wouldn’t have set this goal in the first place.  He paid for my new running shoes, encouraged me to get out the door for Sunday a.m. runs, and ran around town last Saturday to cheer us on.  What a stud.

 I also owe a big “thanks!” to my sweet small group: Rob (he’s a big deal) Blackledge, Emily, Brian, Sarah, Ted, and Andrew who joined in on the tough, hilly section of Belmont and 12 South.  They sang chariots of fire, told jokes, took beer from nearby tailgaters, and made me forget for a little while that I was STILL RUNNING.

And finally, I know I only made it because of my sweet friends, Abiola and Sarah, who ran the whole race with me without stopping! Maybe someday we’ll do it again, ladies. Until then… I’m back to my normal workout routine… or lack thereof…


ps. Now that this journey is over, and the school year is almost over… it may be time for a new goal.  What about you? Do you have any goals for this spring/summer?

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

What chu thinkin?

