End of an Era

I don’t know how many years have to pass in order for something to be considered an “era.” A hundred? Ten? Three?

It’s the end of an era.

One of my favorite days, and favorite students, Antwan. I’ll never forget the day he walked up to show off his new ‘do. So perfect.

This was one of the worst days over the last three years. Veteran teachers always say not to take things personally.

Another perfect day in the life of a teacher. Seeing my sweet student (friend) Cayla dance in her end-of-year recital. The talents of students are often underestimated.

This was a hard day. But kind of funny.

The doors I walked in and out of every day. The “Notice” there is about carrying weapons and drugs onto school property. The door slammed behind me and the sound echoed up the three flights of stairs I climbed every day to my classroom.

This year, a different year, but still a challenge. Here I am with one of my student’s little sister.  I thought she looked exactly like I did when I was her age.

I wish I had taken more snapshots of the good days, more pictures of the hard times. This week is full of emotion for me. Relief that it’s almost over. Sadness that it’s drawing to a close. Thankfulness for a future in something new that excites me. Regret to be leaving a remarkable school that I’ve grown to love. Fear, insecurity, excitement, anxiety, happiness… Really, I’m a big mess.

Friday is my last day as a teacher.

It’s the end of an era.

What chu thinkin?

