Narcissism.

It’s been difficult for me to sit down and write something meaningful on the blog lately.  Well, to be honest, it’s been difficult to do really anything meaningful lately.

I’ve been writing so much here, there, and everywhere, that I’ve felt a little sapped of creative energy for “Growing up Gibson.” And honestly, that’s a great thing!  I want to be a writer, right? So being busy writing (even if it’s other stuff) should be exactly what I want. Knowing that I’m not going back to the classroom this week feels like one big sigh of relief.

Plus, I feel really, really happy. HAPPY. Content. Fulfilled. Energized. Smiley. Upbeat. HAPPY.

Here’s another time I felt happy. 
And with all that happiness (and busy-ness) comes a sneaking feeling that I’ve had before… this feeling that I can do it. I’m making it on my own. Look at how great things are going.  The problem with those thoughts (although there’s nothing wrong with happiness)– is that I know they feed my selfishness and pride.

Remember a while back when I posted about insecurity? Well the truth is, I’ve just swung on the pendulum the opposite direction… to narcissism. Gross.

I’m still the same person with the same problem: I’m absolutely one hundred percent all about myself. To the point where I created a blog and posted it everywhere all about ME.

And I’m kinda sick of talking about me.

So, I’m here to say publicly that this blog is going to change for the unforeseen future. I’m not sure how it’s going to look yet…. I’m still figuring that part out.  But, know that this is taking a new turn. Shifting in focus.  Instead of being all about me, it’s going to be all about… other people.

And I can’t wait.


Who would you like sot see me interview? Whose stories would you want to hear? My grandmother? Next door neighbor? Mailman? Homeless man? Other Army Brats? You? I’d love to know what you’d find interesting. 


(Picture: Jason Mundie @ A Dream Within)

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

4 thoughts

  1. I have some friends who just brought their third child into the world, despite the doctos' diagnosis at 20 weeks that she was "incompatible with life." She just came home from the hospital, albeit with severe birth defects and hospice care set up. It is a miracle that her family has gotten to enjoy her life, and if they would go for it, I would love to see you interview them.

What chu thinkin?

