Making steps

It wasn’t that long ago that I made a big announcement and left teaching to write. In fact, it was exactly five months ago that I packed up a box of books, grabbed my stapler, turned in my laptop, and headed home from the classroom. 
I didn’t know what this journey would look like, or where it would take me. At first, I took whatever job came my way. I wrote guest blog posts for free, filled company blogs with words for a few dollars an hour, and I pitched and I pitched and I pitched. 

In the last five months, I’ve taken large strides forward, and have put thousands upon thousands of words on digital paper (and a few words on real paper, too). So much so that people have asked me for advice about how to start a career in writing. Which is weird. Because I haven’t figured out how to make a viable living at this yet.
But I’m still trying. 
I’ve set some goals for myself for 2013 that I’m looking forward to sharing here, in time. Until then, I want to thank you for reading, thank you for sending encouraging e-mails, texts, Facebook messages and whatevers. Because giving up an income to do something you love is wonderful and horrible. Wonderful because as I write this I’m sitting on my porch, looking at the sun hitting a few red, yellow, and green leaves.  Horrible because I don’t know what tomorrow holds or if the ideas in my head will really make a difference. Wonderful because I live in a country that gives me freedom to choose my path. Horrible because I don’t know where the path is leading. Wonderful because I believe that the path is headed somewhere good.
“Faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is unseen.” Hebrews 11:1

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

What chu thinkin?

