#12days1story

People tell us that this is the most wonderful time of the year. Advent: a season of anticipation. And boy have I been anticipating what I’m about to tell you!

The idea was simple. I wanted to write a short story for Christmas. Something I could share with family and friends. And I thought, perhaps I could even share it over 12 different installments, like some literary version of the “12 days of Christmas.”

But how can you keep people invested in a story when there’s so much else going on? Christmas shopping, presents to buy, traveling to do… the list goes on and on. Plus, I’ve always been befuddled by this whole “12 days of Christmas” thing… aren’t there actually twenty-four days before Christmas Day? I began to wonder. What if I did something with the other 12 days?

And thus, this project was born. As a gift to you.

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS … AND ONE STORY.

EVEN DAYS IN DECEMBER: 

Come check out great giveaways on Growing Up Gibson! Write a comment, link on Twitter (with @clairecgibson and #12days1story), or follow the blog to enter any giveaway contest. All winners will be mailed their prizes free of charge! (Just wait til you see what I have lined up!)

ODD DAYS IN DECEMBER:

Come check out installments of my very first short story, “Longspur.” 

It’s as easy as that!

So, to get started… go ahead an comment/tweet/share this post!  What do you think of this idea? Am I totally nuts? Any comment or share will enter you in the first drawing for…well you’ll have to come back to see! 

Photos captured by: Jason Mundie @ A Dream Within

Comments

  1. Reading and posting now. More power to ya, girl!

  2. sooooo stinkin’ fun!!!!!!!!!! im excited about the giveaways, but might be more excited about the short story!

  3. Hey, I can’t wait to start reading…what a great idea! I’m wondering where the story title came from??? But it will probably be revealed when I begin reading…I love creative writing and great stories…

  4. Great idea Claire! The Twelve Days of Christmas refer to the 12 days between Christmas Day and the Epiphany. Many cultures like Latin American and Eastern Orthodox consider the 6th to be the true Christmas celebration because the visit by the three kings represent that Jesus was to be King of all Kings. Looking forward to reading your story over Advent – will help build the anticipation for the holidays!

Trackbacks

  1. […] back to #12days1story. We are so close to the end, and there are just two installments left! Thank you so much for those […]

  2. […] getting closer and closer to the end of #12days1story. Thank you so much to those of you who have stuck with me all this way, and those of you who have […]

  3. […] I dreamed up the idea of #12days1story, the idea was simple: 12 exciting giveaways, and 1 fiction story—a perfect cross section between […]

  4. […] you’re just joining us… this is #12days1story! So far, we’ve given away a fashionABLE scarf, Annie Williams leather, Art by Anna Bost, and […]

  5. […] you’re just joining #12days1story… welcome! Go back and catch up on my first short story, Longspur. Part Harry Potter and Part […]

  6. […] today, for the #12days1story third giveaway… Anna is going to grace one lucky Growing Up Gibson reader with this stunning […]

  7. […] Today we’re back to the story part of #12days1story… […]

  8. […] I have been so excited to share with you guys the next giveaway for #12days1story! […]

  9. […] you’re just joining us, you’ve stepped into a crazy project called #12days1story. On odd days in December, I’ll be sharing parts of my first short fiction story. On even […]

  10. […] you’re just joining us, welcome to #12days1story. Every odd day in December, I’ll be sharing installments of a short fiction story, […]

  11. […] you’re just joining us, welcome to #12days1story. Every day until December 25th, I’ll be alternating between giving away great gifts, and […]

What chu thinkin?

