Giveaway No. 5 // Burger Up Dinner for Two

gallery3

When I dreamed up the idea of #12days1story, the idea was simple: 12 exciting giveaways, and 1 fiction story—a perfect cross section between entrepreneurs I know and respect, and my dream to continue writing.

And when I dreamed up that vision—Miranda was one of the first people I contacted.

Miranda is the owner of Nashville’s upscale burger joint, Burger Up. Patrick and I manage to find our way over there several times a month because the food is delicious, the atmosphere is peaceful, and the restaurant’s mission is clear. From the beginning, Miranda has been on a crusade to build “thoughtful consuming through community,” which means she sources food from local farms, supports local musicians and entrepreneurs, and even encourages a lowly writer like me.

The best part of the “12 Days of Christmas” song is when you can belt out “5 GOLDEN RINGS!” So I chose to give that coveted spot in the line up to our favorite local spot.

This one is for folks in Nashville…

gallery2

GIVEAWAY

Burger Up (12 South location) dinner/ drinks for 2 up to $75. 

TO ENTER:

Leave a comment for doing any of the following:

  • Post about this giveaway on Twitter! (Make sure to include @BurgerUP, @clairecgibson and #12days1story) (one entry)
  • Follow Growing Up Gibson via email (one entry)
  • Leave a comment about what you think about this whole crazy project (one entry)
  • Leave a comment about why you want to win! (one entry)
  • Go back and read what I’ve revealed so far of Longspurand tell me what you think! (One entry)

This giveaway will end at 7:00 AM on Wednesday, December 12, 2012. (Just in time for our next giveaway!)

Can’t wait to see who wins!

Comments

  1. Even though I don’t live there I would love to win this because one of my best friends and bridesmaids from Tulane lives there and talks about this place all the time! And I’m pretty sure her fiancé Taylor used to work there. But I would love to give them this as an engagement gift! And mike and I will experience it for ourselves when we go to their Nashville wedding in May!

    • I don’t know why the time says 7:20am… It’s 11:20PM PST which would be 1AM your time…

      • So weird!! WordPress is kind of funky with times I’ve noticed. I’ll schedule these posts for 8:00 AM and somehow they publish at 2:00 AM. Not exactly sure what’s going on with that. I’ll see if I can figure it out. So exciting that you’re coming into Nashville! I wonder if we could hang?

  2. Claire! How are you so clever?!?! This is the coolest and most interesting idea I’ve seen in a while! I love that you found an innovative way to mix the joy of the Christmas season, your novel, and supporting the local community in such s positive and refreshing way! I love the idea and you have captured my interest! You inspire me 🙂

  3. Ted Beidler says:

    Plus I joined the mailing list, boom!

  4. Ted Beidler says:

    Claire! Love what you’re doing and even more so now that you are giving away Burgers… I Tweeted about this and I’ll have you know that my initial draft of the Tweet had a lot more “awesome”s in it but I was over by about 48 characters so I had to trim.

  5. I want to win because Burger Up would nourish my body like Longspur feeds my soul.

  6. Love the project. When I was a kid (in the last millennium) our local newspaper (really showing my age now) printed a serial story at Christmastime. I couldn’t wait to get home from school to read the next chapter. Your story has captured the same magic–the perfect amount of daily satisfaction combined with a little craving for more later.
    -B

  7. the longspur project (or “lp,” as i like to call it) is really a fantastic idea. you are not only gaining a bigger audience, but you are also rewarding them for their patronage and helping to gain a bigger “audience” for the businesses with which you have partnered. bravo!

  8. shelley ellis says:

    I am loving Longspur…you are an amazing storyteller and I love knowing this part of you!

  9. shelley ellis says:

    I want to win because its burger up…and I need an excuse for a date night with my greatest-husband-ever!!

  10. shelley ellis says:

    I think this project is awesome…stringing me along…keeping me coming back for more 🙂

  11. make burger
    up yours!

    i love burgers, and i think you need only consult your husband to confirm.

  12. I am hungry. Burger up would fix that!

  13. I love the 12 days of giving because Christmas is a season of giving! I would love to win this giveaway because we love Burger Up, drool over their twitter and Instagram posts, and will be in Nashville next week! This would make a great date night!

  14. ….why do I want to win? ….. 1) I love Burger Up especially their sweet potato fries, marathon burger and drinks. 2) I rarely treat myself to going there 3) I’d love to be able to treat a friend to dinner!! and lastly….4) It’s almost my birthday!! a reason to celebrate especially with a gift card!!!

  15. Claire, you are so talented and gifted. I love the imagery that you create through the carefully chosen words you use! It’s a beautiful story!

  16. I absolutely love that you’ve intertwined a narrative story with giveaways… to me it speaks first to your love and proclivity for story (which you’re super great at by the way) and your ability to engage your audience, grow that group and give back to them in a unique and diverse way…. love love love

  17. I want to win because I LOVE Burger up and their delicious food and drinks. I love Miranda’s mission of “thoughtful consuming through community” and I always love supporting locally.

  18. I already follow your lovely blog via google reader! And I LOVE this fun #12days1story project… what a fun idea, especially around Christmas time! You have had some awesome give aways too… and I love the things are you supporting through this blog 🙂

  19. Love the #12days1story idea! Always great to read your work. And extra awesome bonus to see the quality of folks you’ve teamed up with for gift giveaways! Burger Up is our FAVORITE and we’d, of course, love a date night out of the home office 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Claire!

  20. Katherine Falk says:

    I would like to win bc a) I love burgers, b) I love local businesses, c) I love Cal Longspur, and d) I love Claire. 🙂

  21. kelly marth says:

    I want to win this goodness b/c 1. who doesn’t love Burger up? 2. who doesn’t love FREE burger up? yay!

  22. kelly marth says:

    This “whole crazy project” is awesome! How incredible that you have a vision and are making it happen! So proud of you for pursuing writing, getting out in the community and offering incentives to spread the word. Let’s be honest, who doesn’t love some Burger up!

  23. P.S. This “crazy” project inspires the heck out of me, and I think you are one amazing, risk-taking, courageous, and tenacious lady!

  24. I have never been to Burger Up and NOT cleaned my plate. Clean Plate Club 4Life. It’s always delicious, and this poor grad student needs all the free meals she can get!!

  25. Robin Smalt says:

    And I would of course love to win the Burger Up prize. Great food and atmosphere. Great people. They always take care of my sister who has Celiac and has to eat gluten-free. Love it.

  26. Robin Smalt says:

    Claire, I think the story and giveaways idea is genius. So glad to see you doing something you love and making opportunities for yourself.

  27. I twitted about the giveaway @LanesaB

  28. i follow growing up gibson via email!

  29. plz #burgermeup

  30. Every time my wife says she wants to go to BurgerUp for dinner, I always seem to have an excuse not to go. I owe her one so if it’s free, its a win/win!

  31. I want to win because 12/12 is my birthday so it’d be a great birthday surprise/dinner!!

  32. This giveaway is fabulous!!!!

  33. As for the #12Days1Story initiative, it’s brilliant. I’ve always wondered what the 12 days of Christmas are all about… with your story AND give-aways, you actually give us the 24 days leading up to Christ’s birth. Your version makes the most sense of any yet!

  34. I would love to win because I am always in desperate need of a date night (we have 3 kids) and we love Burger Up!

  35. Sarah McCullar says:

    I love burgers, I love sweet potato fries, I love local food, I love great company, I love Burger Up!!

  36. The only thing better than Longspur would be reading Longspur at Burger Up!

  37. david Branch says:

    burger me up!

  38. aconsciousliving says:

    …and why do I want to win? Duh! It’s BurgerUp!

    Also one of our go-to spots, love what Miranda and Philip are doing. Also excited to see what comes next from this combo: Josephine on 12th.

  39. aconsciousliving says:

    Benefits of new baby- I’m up and the first one to comment!

    Love the 12 days of Christmas idea with awesome giveaways. Very good idea, relatable and builds over time.

Trackbacks

  1. […] there’s still time to enter the Burger UP giveaway! Go get chu […]

What chu thinkin?

