Field Photos, Edition No. 3: Charleston, SC

I’ve been enjoying a quick trip down to Charleston, SC this week (more about that soon!), and WOW. I haven’t even been here 24 hours, and I already love this place. Sunshine. Palm Trees. Beautiful people. Really, really good food.  Charleston has it all. I’ll be heading home to Nashville tomorrow to start tackling our kitchen, but before we get into all that… enjoy these field photos from Charleston!

Here’s how it all started. I ordered shrimp and grits and a cucumber martini. For lunch.

IMG_1603I also ate these. Woof.

poogan's porch biscuits

pooganSpeaking of woof, this is Poogan, a puppy that just happened to be on the porch of Poogan’s Porch. He’s from Hilton Head, and was just in for the weekend. We hit it off because I fed him some biscuit.mary beth

My sweet friend and host, (and birthday girl) Mary Beth (aka Mbeezy). rogue waveYesterday I had the great opportunity to meet (and sip bourbon) with Rhett Boyd, the owner of Rogue Wave Surf Shop. Unfortunately, I did not score surf lessons like I’d hoped. Too cold.king street

kudu coffee

Kudu Coffee. And I ran into Drew Miller (pictured above) from Furman! Small World. charelston photos

Check back soon for more photos!

Author: Claire

Hi I'm Claire. I am a freelance writer, Vizlsa lover, and avid runner who lives in Nashville, TN. Nice to meet you.

9 thoughts

  1. My high school friend Doug is the chef at Poogan’s Porch. So delish, huh? Word on the street is that its a very haunted old house in Charleston. mwah ah ah ah! 🙂

    Oh, how I love my homeland. xo

    1. uhm, what?? Wish I’d known. His shrimpngrits were to die for. I sat on the porch… so I can’t attest to ghosts, but I guess that’s just another reason to go back? Hope you’re well!!

  2. Hey Claire! I stumbled across your blog a few months ago and have loved reading about your courageous venture into freelance writing and about your life! I know our paths at Furman didn’t cross much, but I always admired you from afar. Your blog is beautiful and refreshingly authentic. And now that I’ve “come out” as one of your readers (hehe), I’ll be sure to comment often!

    1. Emily!! So glad you commented… and so thankful for your kind words. I wish we HAD known each other better in college! I saw that you just got engaged… Congratulations! Marriage is a huge blessing… and it’s also “sin on steroids,” as my mom put it when I got engaged. Where are you living and what are you doing these days? Thanks again for saying hey… and please chime in whenever you want! It makes my day!!

      1. Thanks for responding, Claire! I really do love reading your blog. It’s got some honest thoughts and I am so encouraged by your head-first jump into your writing vocation. Scary and wonderful! That’s how to live life well. I am loving engaged life. We are in the thick of cloud nine right now, so I am riding this joyful wave of energy while it lasts! I know our life together will not always be this easy, so building a strong foundation of open communication and empathy for one another right now is important. 🙂 I am currently living in Telluride, Colorado and working as a Victim’s Advocate at an interpersonal violence resource center. I mostly work with Hispanic women survivors of abuse, domestic violence, and sexual assault. It’s good work and keeps me in check with reality, grateful for the loving and supportive people in my life. 🙂

      2. Wow. How awesome. I’m so glad to know what you’re up to, and look forward to hearing more as time goes on! keep in touch!

What chu thinkin?

