A little more bold.

When I hear the word “bold,” I think about one thing.

I love coffee. I’m drinking some right now.

I especially like it when the bitter nutty flavor is rounded out with a dash of swirling cream, preferably the hazelnut variety.

How do you like your coffee?

The worst is when it’s too watered down. When the magic golden ratio of grounds-to-water got all jacked up, and all of the sudden I feel like I’m just drinking brown water. The. worst.

But I’m not unlike that brown non-delicious coffee. I don’t like to be bold all that often… because a lot of times I’m afraid of leaving a bad taste in someone else’s mouth. I don’t want to offend anyone. I want to be liked.

But I want to be a little more bold. With what I do, with what I say, and definitely with what I write. After all, how many blogs about hair tutorials do we really need? Bold is better. Bold is best.

When was the last time you did something daring? Something even a little bit dangerous? And I’m not talking about skydiving or rocky mountain climbing. I’m talking about speaking the Truth when it’s easier to be silent. Saying the whole Truth and not the half truth about who you are.

I want to be bold like that. I’m convinced I was created to be bold like that. The way coffee was created to be bold and it’s not fully itself when it’s all watered down.

Since Sunday I’ve been thinking about all of this. How can I be a little more bold?

So I decided to write a story. My story. And I want to share it with you. But I’m nervous about it—because it might leave a bad taste in your mouth, either about me, or about God, or about life.

But I need to be who I’m made to be. So tomorrow morning, when it’s here… in print … maybe you can grab a bold cup of coffee and just drink in the words. They won’t be perfect, but they will be bitter and sweet on the same page.

The words might surprise you and change your perception of who I am. But that’s the risk I take. They may make you cringe and turn away because they are strong. But I’m giving you fair warning… they will be a little more bold.

Comments

  1. Have you seen the movie “Lincoln” yet? This movie does a very good job of showing that sometimes being bold can actually work against you, so you have to be careful. In the movie some of the politicians wanted full equality for blacks, but if the politicians were bold and stated that opinion it would actually work against their goal so they tempered their beliefs and asked for bits and pieces of equality slowly over time in order to reach their overall goal. Being bold has its merits, but if you want to achieve a goal by convincing people that your opinion is the correct one, a bold approach may just work against you. I prefer a tactful approach that will effectively bring people to see the wisdom in your words. However, most good writers are good because they are bold, so from a writer standpoint…be BOLD!

    • Yes, Mike you are so right. Sometimes it is better to take small steps. And maybe what I say may not seem tactful… But I think in most situations we could all stand to be a little more courageous- don’t you think?

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. miss nana says:

    We were/are the loud family…no question.,

  3. I’ve had the same struggle with boldness. In my family dynamic, “bold” is Irish slang for being “naughty.” You were bold if you didn’t do what your parents told you and you got a quick snip to the behind with a wooden spoon. Today, in my social justice activism, we use the term “bold” all the time to describe our work; we’re confident, courageous, and go against the status quo. It’s taken me awhile to embrace this new idea of boldness, and I’m excited to read about yours.

  4. Looking forward to reading it! More power to you, woman. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] an effort at being a little more bold, I want to tell you a […]

What chu thinkin?

