To Ascot or Not to Ascot?

This is my friend Hal.

Screen Shot 2013-08-15 at 4.23.50 PMIn this photo, he’s wearing a seersucker ascot made by Otis James right here in Nashville. And somehow. He pulls it off.

Now listen. I’m not a dude. And I don’t pretend to know that much about fashion. (Because let’s be honest, I basically just ask myself what would Whitney wear every time I look in my closet.) But, if I were a guy… would I have the guts to wear an ascot?

Otis says the goal was to rid the ascot of its “commonly-implied pretension” and to “bring it into the realm of comfortable approachability.”

So what do you think… did he succeed?

Would you ascot?

RELATED:

Photo via otisjamesnashville

Comments

  1. Maybe in cooler weather… but not in August!
    I always thought that ascots, horn rimmed glasses and an English accent made men appear intelligent – but an ascot in August disproves that notion. It is a lovely ascot though.

  2. NO!! This is only one step better than Walowitz’s dickies… way too pretentious… and not cool (IMO) but what to I know…

What chu thinkin?

